

DS General Assembly #HT18 - 2018-11-28,

Time: 12.00-13.00

Place: HA4, Hörsalsvägen 4.

§1 Opening of the meeting.

Giulio Calcagno opened the meeting.

More than 10 members were present, so decisions can be approved.

§2 Election of meeting official

The General Assembly decided to elect:

Giulio Calcagno as chair of the meeting.

Carlo Negrato as secretary of the meeting.

Anna Köhler and Samar Hosseinzadegan to adopt the minutes of the meeting.

§3 Approval of electoral register

The General Assembly decided to approve the electoral register. The list of attendees is given in the Annex.

§4 Approval of the agenda

The General Assembly decided to approve the Agenda.

§5 Meeting notice in due order

The General Assembly decided to consider the meeting notice in due order.

§6 Minutes from the previous meeting

The chair of the meeting communicated to the attendees that the minutes from the previous meetings are available on the DS webpage: https://www.dokt.chs.chalmers.se/public/#GAm (last visit on November 28, 2018).

§7 Financial statement DS Board 17-18

The auditor report was discussed shortly. There was an accounting error, related to the compensation for department hours, which had been fixed in the final version.

Anna Köhler reported on the budget for the current year (2018-2019), which is twice as much as last year. More details are available in the presentation.

Question from the audience: What is done with the money left from the previous year? Anna Köhler: It is used for the present year.

Question from the audience: the cost for DOMB doubled from the previous year. What are the reasons?

Anna Köhler: both the salary of DOMB increases to compensate for i.e. inflation and, more importantly, her hours increased significantly from the previous years.

The general assembly approved the freedom from liability for the last year board.

§8 Election of DS election committee

The general assembly approved the three members of the election committee: Carlo Negrato, Anand Harihara and Anton Kersten.



§9 Election of auditor

The option of having one student auditor and one professional (external) auditor was discussed.

Comment from Anna Köhler: we need to consider also the budget, for the external auditor. Comments from the audience: it is not clear which responsibilities and tasks the student auditor has.

The general assembly decided that the election of student auditor is postponed to the next meeting. The DS Board will prepare and share a document with information on the role of the student auditor. Further discussion on the external auditor will also be considered at the next meeting.

§10 Election of additional DS Board member

The general assembly elected Johanna Merisalu from ACE as a new member of the DS Board.

§11 Report on current activities

The status of the following activities was reported: Supervisor of the year, Introduction Day, CHARM, PhD Alumni event, DOMB, PhD portal, Electronic study plan, Salary negotiation. While reporting on the above activities, the following items were also addressed:

- The manning of departmental work
- The issue of vacation compensation
- The importance for PhD students to be aware of the contents of the Collective Agreement.
- The duration of PhD studies.
- The course evaluation for PhD courses.
- Implementation of regulations/procedures to allow more flexibility for the examination of PhD students who take Master courses.

Question from the audience: is the 5 years (plus extension) the duration of the PhD studies, or can it include also the Post Doc? Joakim Strandberg: the duration is for the PhD studies only. Starting from January 2019 the extension is set to a maximum of 3 years (8 years in total).

§12 Other issues

Dmytro Romanchenko and Ida Karlsson presented their initiative to create a group who promotes sustainability goals through activities at the campus.

They can be contacted via mail:

Dmytro Romanchenko, dmytror@chalmers.se

Ida Karlsson ida.karlsson@chalmers.se

§13 Closing of the meeting

Giulio Calcagno closed the meeting after no further questions were raised by the attendees.

Giulio Calcagno

DS Chair

Carlo Negrato

Secretary

Anna Köhler

Adopter of minutes

Samar Hosseinzadegan

Adopter of minutes