MC2 PhD Student Council

Minutes for General Assembly on November 27, 2018

Present: Marlene Bonman (Chair), Stavros Giannakopoulos, Filip Hjort, Alexander Grabowski, Ingrid Strandberg, Andreas Ask, Hafid Zehri, Josef Hansson, Ewa Simpanen, Isabel Harrysson Rodrigues, Marco Scigliuzzo, Qi Li, Martí Gutierrez Latorre, Zheng Yu, Bing Zhao, Kovendhan Vijayan, Krishna Twayana, Md. Anamul Hoque, Silvia Ruffieux

Opening the General Assembly

The General Assembly (here on referred to as GA) started at 12:00 in room Kollektorn of MC2

Election of GA officials

Marlene Bonmann was elected as the Chairman of the GA. Stavros Giannakopoulos was elected as secretary. Ingrid Strandberg and Martí Gutierrez Latorre were appointed as Adjustors.

Approval of agenda

Agenda was approved by the assembly.

Meeting notice in due order

Meeting notice was determined to be sent out in due order.

Information on MC2 PhD student council (here on referred to as the council) activities during the past year

Josef Hansson, chair of the council for the previous term presented information on the council's work. That included the work on:

- Organisation of the first GA (2017) and the formation of the council along with its statutes.
- Creation of a website for the council, hosted on the DS web page.
- Creation of the "knowledge repository": a gathering of all information relevant for PhD students, organised for easy access. The repository is hosted on the council's web-page.
- Contributions to the external evaluation of the Doctoral education in MC2 as well as to the central Chalmers evaluation on work environment.
- Arranging a workshop in coordination with Chalmers LRS department regarding business travel documents and paperwork.
- Coordinated with seniors of MC2 and representatives in other departments to investigate the teaching availability of the students as well as facilitate teaching opportunities in other departments. Under that context, a representatives from the department of Computer Science held a presentation of all their available positions for teaching.
- Election of Andreas Ask as the representative of the council in the department advisory board (Institutionsrådet).

Election of council members

Election of council chair

Josef Hansson was the only nominee for the chairman position. Josef was elected chair of the council for 2018-2019.

Election of additional council members

Ewa Simpannen was included automatically in the council as member of The executive board (Ledningsgruppen, LG). The council should provide a suitable member to replace her when needed.

Agin Vyas was elected by the DS as an representative from MC2 last year. The council and the DS will discuss his replacement if needed.

Elected members: there was only one nominee per laboratory therefore all nominees were elected by the GA.

- MEL: Stavros Giannakopoulos
- PL: Filip Hjort
- AQP: Andreas Ask
- EMSL: Hafid Zehri
- TML: Nooshien Laderian
- QDP: Md. Anamul Hoque
- QT: Martí Gutierez Latorre

Other issues

Josef addressed the assembly to let the present students know that there is a possible course (7.5 credits) in the Language department. After taking the course, PhDs should be able to gain teaching hours to help Master's students on their thesis writing.

Closing of the General Assembly

The GA closed at 12:45.

Next Meeting: The first regular meeting was arranged for Wednesday the 5th of December.

Adjustors.

Martí Gutierrez Latorre has approved the minutes, December 3 2018. Ingrid Strandberg has approved the minutes, December 4 2018.