CHALMERS

2020-11-4

MC2 PhD student council general assembly

Time: 12:00 - 13:00

Place: Kollektorn + Zoom (https://chalmers.zoom.us/j/8226548313)
Attendees: Andreas Ask, Bogdan Karpiak, Anna Braaby, Ariadna Soro Álvarez, Md Anamul Hoque, Martí Gutierrez, Hafid Zehri, Ivo Cools, Achintya Paradkar, Emely Wiegand, Filip Hjort, Ingrid Strandberg, Isabel Rodrigues, Israel Rebolledo Salgado, Stavros Giannakopoulos, Bogdan Karpiak, Nermin Trnjanin.

§1 Opening of the meeting, 12'03

§2 Election of meeting officials

- 1. Chairman- Andreas Josefsson Ask
- 2. Secretary- Hafid Zehri
- 3. Adjustors- Ivo Cools and Andreas Josefsson Ask

§3 Approval of agenda

Yes, vote with unanimity

§4 Meeting notice in due order

Yes, vote with unanimity

§5 Information about the council activities over the last year

The council identified the lack of clear assignment as an important issue that concerns the PhD students from the employee's survey. The council proposed the six-months initial work project to the executive board that was voted down.

The council discussed the hiring freeze with the head of the department and head of the graduate study. No effect on the hiring of the PhD students but short contracts extension might not be possible unless it is for postdoc positions.

The council advocated against the examiner-supervisor role issue that was recently solved.

The council ran a survey concerning the Covid situation and its effect on the PhD life and research. 80% reported a decreased efficiency. A summary and a workplan was sent to the executive board.

The council, in addition to its board members has also:

One representative within the DS board

One representative within FFF

One representative within advisor board

One representative within the executive board

The council is cooperating on the publication of a new study plan. A test version is running and the from will be ready for 2021.

§6 Election of council members

Election of council chair
 Martí Gutierrez, voted new Chair of the council with unanimity.

2. Election of additional council members

QDP: Md Anamul Hoque, Ivo Cools, Nermin Trnjanin

AQP: Ariadna Soro Alvarez

EMSL: Hafid Zehri

Photonics: Israel Rebolledo Salgado

QT: Martí Gutierrez

MEL: Stavros Giannakopoulos

TML: Isabel Rodrigues

§7 Other issues

Vacation days rule will be enforced starting from next year

§8 Closing of the meeting

12'03, next meeting TBA