MC2 PhD Student Council General Assembly

Minutes for 4 December 2017

Present: Josef Hansson (Chair), Stavros Giannakopoulos (Secretary), Ewa Simpanen, Filip Hjort, Michael Bergmann, Andreas Ask, Ingrid Strandberg, Sobhan Sepehri, Silvia Ruffieux, Maria Ekström, Agin Vyas, Marlene Bonmann, Isabel Harrysson Rodrigues

Adopting minutes: Ingrid Strandberg, Filip Hjort

Election of meeting officials

Josef Hansson was elected chair of the General Assembly. Stavros Giannakopoulos was appointed secretary. Filip Hjort and Ingrid Strandberg were chosen to be the adjustors.

Approval of agenda

The chair proposed the following change in the agenda: Introduce a point between paragraph 5 and 6, for Maria to talk about the Doctoral Student Guild. Agenda was approved with the said change.

Meeting notice in due order

Meeting notice was determined to be sent out in due order, even in accordance with the not yet adopted statutes.

Information from the Council by Josef

Josef introduced the Council to the assembly.

The council as an idea was initiated by Maria \mathcal{C} Ewa, due to the lack of such a framework in MC2. The timing of this initiative coincided with the increase of reported issues by MC2 PhD students, so the initial aims were to investigate, identify and act on those problems.

The draft of the proposed MC2 PhD Student Council functions was presented.

Presentation of the work in DS by Maria

Maria presented the DS board and its recent work and invited all students to the General Assembly of the DS.

Adoption of Statues for the board

Josef read and explained the proposed Statutes of the Council.

Section one was clear without issues.

Section two was clear without issues.

Section three: question about 3.8 regarding "...a reasonable time...". The above sentence was questionably vague. The discussion concluded that this sentence was left vague in purpose and it was left open for interpretation by the Council.

Section four, Several discussion points were tackled:

- How many PhDs are there in total in at MC2?
- Discussion on point 4.6 regarding the exact number of PhD students required. The number 10 was deemed to be OK. It was further proposed to change it to a percentage of the total PhDs enrolled in MC2, with 10% being the most reasonable value.
- Point 4.8 was discussed regarding the situation where the chair, and the two non-elected members of the council, from Institutionsrådet and Ledningsgruppen could have voting power without need of any student elected members, thus undermining the democratic nature of the Council. The chair said that in the future, the Council itself will assign the students on both Institutionsrådet and Ledningsgruppen.

The following changes in the statutes were decided:

- Section 3.8 change to remove the last sentence "...after a reasonable time.".
- Section 2 change the title to "Functions of the Council"
- Section 3.1 change the first sentence to "In order to make decisions,..."

The Assembly voted that the Statutes will be adopted with the ability to do minor language corrections before the final document is published. It falls to the adjustors to make sure that the content and meaning of the statutes remains unchanged.

Election of members

The chair opened the election of the regular members for the year 2017-2018.

Voting method: All nominees are presented and an open vote with hand raising was proposed and agreed upon.

Josef Hansson (EMSL) nominates himself as the chair on the grounds of having experience in the interim period. No other nominees. The assembly voted and elected Josef as the chair of the council.

The chair opens the nomination for the regular members.

Five people nominated themselves. The chair proposes to have 7 open positions (the 5 nominated and 2 in reserve for the Council to appoint if needed). A discussion started on whether more or less seats should be used, and the issue of the non-elected members potentially highjacking the council was brought up. However, due to no alternative proposed, the decision was made for 5 elected + 2 reserve members in addition to the Chair and the students currently in Institutionsrådet and Ledningsgruppen for a total of 10 members. No more than 2 reserves was deemed needed because it would further change the balance between elected members and members appointed by the council. In addition, in the future the students in Institutionsrådet and Ledningsgruppen will be required to be members of the council so the non-elected members will be even less. There was no change in the statutes on this matter.

The Doctoral students that nominated for the council seats in order of presentation:

• Marlene Bonmann (TML)

- Stavros Giannakopoulos (MEL)
- Andreas Ask (AQP)
- Filip Hjort (PL)
- Silvia Ruffieux (QDP)

The Council members elected by the General Assembly for the year 2017-2018:

- 1. Josef Hansson, chair (elected, EMSL)
- 2. Maria Ekström (automatically as a member of Institutionsrådet)
- 3. Ewa Simpanen (automatically as a member of Ledningsgruppen)
- 4. Andreas Ask (elected, AQP)
- 5. Stavros Giannakopoulos (elected, MEL)
- 6. Filip Hjort (elected, PL)
- 7. Silvia Ruffieux (elected, QDP)
- 8. Marlene Bonmann (elected, TML)
- 9. Reserve seat
- 10. Reserve seat

Other issues

There were no other issues.

Closing of the meeting

Josef closed the meeting at 13:10.